Chair Building 9/27

Last week in science we built chairs. We started out with a long wooden board, and we marked with pencil the areas we needed to cut. After that, we all went down to the beach to start building. There were only two jigsaws, so I had to wait to cut my board. While I was waiting, I was cutting out paper bones. A little while later, it was my turn to saw. When I first started using the jigsaw, it was a little tricky, but after a few seconds I got the hang of it. I had used a jigsaw a few times before, but that was over two years ago. When the cutting was done, the product was one large rectangular shape, one square shape, two small rectangles cut out from the bottom of the square, and a small slot at the bottom of the rectangle. I used the two small rectangles and drilled them on either sides of the slot. Drilling them was very tricky, because it was hard to get the screw to go in, and at first the drill did not have enough power. After everything was cut and drilled, I painted a grey base coat on the wood to help protect it. I had to be very careful, because that paint does not come off clothes.

Building these chairs, I learned a few different things. I learned how to use new tools, and I also learned that painting wood helps it last longer. I can use what I learned for future building projects, because now I know how to use a drill and a jigsaw. Also, I know that I can paint wood with strong paint if I want to make it last. When I was using the jigsaw, I was surprised by how fast it could cut. I was also surprised to hear that paint helps the wood, because at first I thought it was just for decoration. When all of the cutting and drilling was finished, I was so satisfied when I fit the two peices together, and it actually made a chair! Until it got stuck and I realized that I still had to paint it. It took some yanking and splinters, but eventually I got it unstuck. Next time I have a building project, I am not going to fit pieces together unless both of them are 100% ready.

How long can wood last without paint? How long does it last with the paint? How does the paint make it last?

1 thought on “Chair Building 9/27

I am glad you liked the process of building. It is not easy for me either but I love putting power tools in kids hands:) Wood is porous and the paint seals it so it won’t rot. Some paint is lighter than others but we used exterior paint so it should last longer in the weather.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *